Mastery in Communications

Blogging is an important counterpart to personal branding because blogging increases visibility on the Internet. To boost the trajectory of my personal brand I have examined blogging as both a means for distributing information and as an output for creative venture. As a resource for military spouses starting a Home-Based Business, my personal brand of a Home-Based Business Advisor benefits from my ability to reach out to my audience through blogging.

Finding My Voice with Blogging

Increasing visibility and maintaining an active online presence are necessary components for developing a personal brand. Blogging has been an area that I have not been successful so my goal is to write a blog post once a week to maintain an active online presence. One component I can use in developing my personal brand through blogging is to be deliberate in the content I present online.

Be purposeful in what you share. Every tweet you send, every status update you make, every picture you share, contributes to your personal brand. It is an amalgamation of multiple daily actions. Once you understand how you wish your brand to be perceived, you can start to be much more strategic about your personal brand (Hyder, 2014, p. 2).

In my blog Mastery in Communications, I strive to present accurate information about the intersections between new media communications and interpersonal communication theory. My blog acts as a resource and chronicle for potential clients to learn about my thoughts on communications and to understand my voice from my writing style. My goal is to make my blog, Mastery in Communications stand out as an intelligent and well-researched resource in the never-ending sea of blogs. By creating material that examines the importance of competency in computer-mediated communications (CMC), I am elevating myself above my competition.

Meeting My Goals through Blogging

Working with military spouses is my passion and helping them build their Home-Based Business is my goal. Deckers and Lacy (2013) identify several reasons for blogging including, “You want to establish your expertise” (p. 45). Blogging gives me the opportunity to show military spouses how important new media communications is in the development of a business. Posts range from examining the importance of Personal Branding in the Twenty-First Century to analyzing the use of Social Media Tools. My blog shows that I am committed to improving communications through understanding the theoretical framework of CMC and its application in business development.

Point-of-difference (POD) is defined as, “The aspects of the product offering that are relatively distinct to the offerings of like competitors” (Market Segmentation Study Guide, 2015, para. 4). My POD includes

  • Helping military spouses achieve success with their Home-Based Businesses
  • Creating lasting and long-term relationships with military spouses
  • Maintaining a relatable and authentic presence online for military spouses

Although these PODs are translatable to any other business advisor, few advisors understand the challenges of living the military lifestyle. My competitive POD edge is that I am a military spouse so I understand the exhausting nature of moving to a new city and starting over every few years. Through blogging regularly, I am demonstrating that I am knowledgeable in the field of communications, and that I comprehend at a fundamental level the challenges associated with business ownership in the military lifestyle.

Final Thoughts

As a Home-Based Business Advisor, my goal with blogging is to reach a specific audience of military spouses starting a Home-Based Business. Weekly blog posts that evaluate the importance of new media communications and interpersonal communication theory will help my audience understand my role as a Home-Based Business Advisor. My blog Mastery in Communications, reveals my passion for helping military spouses, demonstrates my love for analyzing interpersonal communication theory, and combines these two subjects with new media marketing techniques while maintaining a professional yet relatable presence on the Internet. Finding my voice with blogging has been an evolving process that I am enjoying both at a personal and at a professional level, which has been integral to the development of my personal brand.

References

Deckers, E., & Lacy, K. (2013). Branding yourself: How to use social media to invent or reinvent yourself. (2nd ed.). Indianapolis, IN. Que Publishing

Hyder, S., (2014, August 18). 7 Things You Can Do To Build An Awesome Personal Brand. Forbes. Retrieved from http://www.forbes.com/sites/shamahyder/2014/08/18/7-things-you-can-do-to-build-an-awesome-personal-brand/

Market Segmentation Study Guide. (2015). Points-of-Difference and Points of Parity. Retrieved from http://www.segmentationstudyguide.com/understanding-perceptual-maps/points-of-difference-pod/

Leave a Reply

