6-2 Blog: Using Social Media Tools

Using Social Media Tools

Resurrecting Life the Online Desert

Using social media tools to engage readers is necessary for reaching a mass audience. The New Media Tools from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services website on aids.gov is a wealth of amassed instruments for communicating with the public. I selected three new media tools, two of which I had already existing accounts for and one that I had heard of but had not used to use to share with my audience. I also selected social media tools that I know I will likely use after this course. Social Networking Sites – Google+ I have a good grasp of using social media but I rarely use Google+. I have my Google+ account as a back when the demise of Facebook happens, just like I had a Facebook because I anticipated the demise of MySpace. I decided to log into and update my existing G+ account to gauge the effectiveness of this experiment.

Social networking sites are online communities that allow you to share information about yourself and your program with clients, colleagues, family, and friends. Many social networking sites let you upload photos, videos, create a blog, post events, join groups, and send messages (Social Networking Sites, n.d., p. 1).

I searched G+ for aids.gov and found their page to follow. After poking around on the aids.gov page, I learned that no new posts had been made and their Facebook page was far more active. Facebook is the current social media powerhouse so it makes sense to reach the audience where most people are active.

Screen Shot 2015-06-05 at 9.28.20 PM

Twitter

Similar to Google+, I had an existing Twitter account so I logged into my account after resetting my password. I have only used the online version of Twitter even though I have had the app installed on my phone at various times. Twitter seems like the type of social media platform I would enjoy if I had a better cell phone plan.

Twitter is a social networking service that allows you to share information, ask questions, and connect with people and organizations around common interests. You use your computer or mobile phone to send short messages, or “tweets,” that are limited to 140 characters. People can sign up on Twitter to follow your tweets. You can choose to follow people in order to receive their tweets too. The Library of Congress digitally archives every public tweet (Twitter, n.d., p. 1).

Twitter has a huge network of people that are easy to connect with using the tools of the platform. After finding the aids.gov website through the New Media Tools page, I followed their page and retweeted the most recent tweet. I also noticed the account owners of aids.gov interacted directly with people who tweeted them, which makes social networking seem more personal. Screen Shot 2015-06-05 at 9.38.37 PM

Social Bookmarking – Delicious

I have heard of Delicious but I did not know it was called social bookmarking. I like this idea for organization so I created an account on Delicious. This social bookmarking website is user-friendly and intuitive, which I found appealing.

Social bookmarking is a way to store, organize, and search websites so you can keep information in one place for future access, and share links of interest around a specific topic. You can save links to (or “bookmark”) web pages that you want to remember and/or share. These bookmarks are usually public, but you can choose to save them privately and share them only with specific people, groups, and networks (Social Bookmarking, n.d., p. 1).

This type of organizational system for the Internet is great for people who need to keep many pages of related topics categorized. After clicking the hotlink from the New Media Tools Page, I discovered that like Google+, no information about AIDS/HIV was available at the time. Finding any content related to AIDS/HIV was difficult because this does not seem to be a trending topic so I linked the New Media Tools page.

Screen Shot 2015-06-04 at 10.12.35 PM

Final Thoughts

Tools for using new media are only as useful as the user’s understanding of the tool and the audience. By understanding the different types of audiences that use different types of social media and digital technology, a person can craft a better marketing plan that reaches a larger audience. The tools I selected to work with are tools that I will use in my personal and professional life but I will continue to explore the other tools provided as well.

References

Social Bookmarking (n.d.). Retrieved from https://aids.gov/using-new-media/tools/social-bookmarking/

Social Networking Sites (n.d.). Retrieved from https://aids.gov/using-new-media/tools/social-network-sites/

Twitter (n.d.). Retrieved from https://aids.gov/using-new-media/tools/twitter/

One thought on “6-2 Blog: Using Social Media Tools

Leave a Reply

